Jobber and Housecall Pro both run scheduling, quotes, invoicing, online booking and a technician app for home service businesses, so the right pick turns on which kind of week you run, not on whichever feature list is longer. What differs is which plan unlocks routing, AI call answering and sales proposals, and what each vendor publishes about financing and lead sources; full pricing has its own posts.
Quick answer
- Entry plan: Jobber's Core is $49 a month with no commitment, Housecall Pro's Basic $79 billed monthly, one user each; every other price is in Jobber pricing in full and Housecall Pro pricing in full.
- Solo or routes: QuickBooks Online sync and route planning start one plan up on both, Connect for Jobber and Essentials for Housecall Pro, whose one-click route optimization needs Max.
- Missed calls: Jobber's AI Receptionist is a $29-a-month add-on, included in Plus; Housecall Pro prints no price for CSR AI.
- Big jobs: both offer Wisetack financing (a service that lets customers pay over time) on the quote at a 3.9 percent fee to the business; only Housecall Pro states a loan range.
- Which ad paid: both keep a lead source, and Jobber can send GA4 (Google's website analytics) an event per request or booking; neither documents sending a finished job's value to Google Ads.
- Run both trials on the same week of real jobs (checklist at the bottom).
What does each one document for your kind of week?
Each cell comes from the vendor's own pages linked below, all checked 2026-10-07; "not stated" means the page I checked is silent.
| Your week: what to compare | Jobber | Housecall Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Any week: online booking | Every plan | Every plan |
| Solo: QuickBooks Online sync | Connect and up | Essentials and up |
| Routes: recurring jobs | Documented, no plan named | Documented, no plan named |
| Routes: route planning | Connect and up | "Routes" on Essentials, one-click optimization on Max |
| Emergencies: AI call answering | $29/mo add-on, included in Plus | Sold outside the plans, price not stated |
| Emergencies: call tracking numbers | Through the CallRail integration | Its own add-on, price not stated |
| Big jobs: options or proposals | Optional add-ons on Grow and up | Sales Proposal Tool on Max |
| Big jobs: Wisetack financing | 3.9% fee, loan range not stated | Every plan, $500 to $65,000, 3.9% fee |
| Ads: where the source sits | Client record, filled from tagged links | Customer, job and estimate |
| Ads: GA4 event on a booking | Request and booking forms | Not stated |
| Ads: a job's value sent to Google Ads | Not stated | Not stated |
| Trial | 14 days of Grow features, no card | 14 days of Max features, no card |
Both also take bookings from Google's Book Online button, on Local Services Ads (Google's paid ads for local trades) and on the free Business Profile listing (Jobber, checked 2026-10-07; Housecall Pro, checked 2026-10-07).
Running it solo or with one tech, what do they document?
Jobber's Core plan is $49 a month with no commitment for one user, and each extra user adds $29 a month (Jobber pricing, checked 2026-10-07). Housecall Pro's Basic is $79 a month billed monthly, one user, and the page prints an added-user price only for Max (Housecall Pro pricing, checked 2026-10-07). Neither entry plan syncs to QuickBooks Online. Jobber's sync starts on Connect and moves clients, invoices, payments and approved timesheets one way into QuickBooks Online, not Desktop (Jobber, checked 2026-10-07).
Running mostly recurring routes, what do they document?
Housecall Pro's pricing page puts "Routes," which groups and sequences a day's jobs to cut drive time, on Essentials, and one-click optimization by real drive time and live traffic on Max, next to Recurring Service Plans for maintenance agreements (Housecall Pro pricing, checked 2026-10-07). Plain recurring jobs, daily through yearly, sit in its help center with no plan named (Housecall Pro, checked 2026-10-07).
Jobber's routing plans one person, a few, or a whole crew over a day, several days or a week, and re-optimizes when a job changes (Jobber, checked 2026-10-07); its pricing page lists routing from Connect up, not on Core (Jobber pricing, checked 2026-10-07). Its recurring jobs, weekly through custom schedules, name no plan either (Jobber, checked 2026-10-07).
Taking emergency and repair calls, what do they document?
Jobber's AI Receptionist answers calls and texts, books visits from your online-booking settings, turns a call it cannot book into a work request or a task, and puts the caller through or texts you on a keyword you set, such as "burst pipe" (Jobber, checked 2026-10-07). It runs on call forwarding from your current number, as a $29-a-month add-on below Plus (Jobber pricing, checked 2026-10-07).
Housecall Pro's CSR AI answers calls and chats, with texts still in alpha (an early test version), books from your schedule, and sends a caller who asks for a person to a number you choose (Housecall Pro, checked 2026-10-07). The pricing page lists it outside the three plans, unpriced (Housecall Pro pricing, checked 2026-10-07).
Selling big jobs with proposals or financing, what do they document?
Jobber's quotes page documents optional add-ons the customer picks before approving, online approval, automatic follow-up on quotes that go quiet, and Wisetack financing on the quote (Jobber, checked 2026-10-07). Optional add-ons need Grow, follow-ups Connect (Jobber pricing, checked 2026-10-07). Its financing page states 3 to 60 months of payments at rates as low as 0 percent and a 3.9 percent fee per transaction, but no loan range (Jobber, checked 2026-10-07).
Housecall Pro keeps its visual Sales Proposal Tool, with custom images and side-by-side comparisons, for Max (Housecall Pro pricing, checked 2026-10-07). Its financing page states jobs from $500 to $65,000, terms up to 120 months, 0 to 35.9 percent APR depending on credit, and a flat 3.9 percent per transaction to the business, not counting 0-percent-APR add-ons (Housecall Pro, checked 2026-10-07).
Which one can show a paying job came from an ad?
Jobber fills the client's lead source from UTM tags, the bits of text added to a link such as utm_source=google, on request and booking links. Its Clients Report lists those UTM columns next to the dollar value of quotes, jobs and invoices (Jobber, checked 2026-10-07). Its CallRail integration, call tracking that gives each ad its own number, writes source, medium, campaign and keywords onto the client, for calls only (Jobber, checked 2026-10-07).
Housecall Pro's lead source sits on customers, jobs and estimates, filled in as "My Website (Online Booking)" for web bookings (Housecall Pro, checked 2026-10-07). Its ROI table groups revenue by source and shows blanks in a "No lead source" row (Housecall Pro, checked 2026-10-07), and its call tracking add-on ties a bought number to a lead source (Housecall Pro, checked 2026-10-07).
Once connected, Jobber also sends GA4 a "generate_lead" event for a submitted request and a "purchase" event for a booking (Jobber, checked 2026-10-07). Neither documents sending a finished job's value to Google Ads or GA4; both list Zapier, Jobber from Connect and Housecall Pro on Max, but describe no path from paid job to ad account (Jobber pricing, checked 2026-10-07; Housecall Pro pricing, checked 2026-10-07). Getting a click id, the code Google Ads stamps on an ad click, back with that value is a separate upload, covered in field service tools that keep a source on every job. As a media buyer I put nearly $700K through Google Ads and Meta Ads in the two years to September 2025, and the bidding followed only what each account was told; a source field that never leaves the job record steers nothing.
What happens when you switch, and how long is each trial?
Both trials last 14 days with no card, Jobber's on Grow features and Housecall Pro's on Max (Jobber pricing, checked 2026-10-07; Housecall Pro pricing, checked 2026-10-07). Jobber imports clients from CSV, TSV or PSV files and, in a separate Beta import, up to 1,000 one-off or recurring jobs at a time from a CSV, admin-only in both cases (Jobber, checked 2026-10-07; Jobber, checked 2026-10-07).
Housecall Pro's wizard takes CSV, TSV, Excel, XML or text files, imports customers and jobs from separate lists, and handles one level of customers. Max subscribers can hand the move to its Data Import team, free for a basic transfer (Housecall Pro, checked 2026-10-07). Export is an admin task on both, though Jobber opens some client data to its Reports permission, and Housecall Pro emails customer and job lists as separate CSV files (Jobber, checked 2026-10-07; Housecall Pro, checked 2026-10-07).
How do you run this as a test instead of a guess?
Illustrative: the week below is invented for a four-person plumbing and drain shop that does not exist, and none of its numbers comes from a client or either vendor.
| What the trial week tracked | Jobber trial | Housecall Pro trial |
|---|---|---|
| After-hours calls the AI answered | 11 of 14 | 9 of 14 |
| Jobs with a source filled in | 34 of 40 | 36 of 40 |
| Tuesday route, stops completed | 12, replanned once | 12, replanned once |
| Financing offered on a $4,200 quote | Yes | Yes |
Source capture rate is jobs with a source divided by jobs booked: 34 ÷ 40 is 85 percent on the made-up Jobber week, 36 ÷ 40 is 90 percent on the made-up Housecall Pro week. The made-up columns split on purpose, so the line that decides is whichever one costs your shop more.
Run the same four lines on your own jobs, and before you sign, get in writing: the price for your exact head count with add-ons; which plan includes the routing, recurring jobs and QuickBooks sync you need; the CSR AI price and whether either AI answering runs during the trial; Jobber's loan range on financing; and a trial export of customers, jobs and invoices you can open before you commit.
Tags
Frequently asked questions
Does Housecall Pro do estimates?
Yes, on every plan. Its pricing page lists estimates and invoicing in Basic, with quotes sent by text or email, and puts the visual Sales Proposal Tool, built with custom images and side-by-side comparisons, on Max only, where the page calls it a $40-a-month value.
Does Jobber have a phone system?
Its pricing page lists no phone line of its own; for calls it sells AI Receptionist, which picks up when you forward calls from your existing number. It answers calls and texts, books from your online-booking settings and transfers a call when it hears a keyword you set, such as emergency. The pricing page lists it as a $29-a-month add-on, included in the Plus plan.
What is similar to Housecall Pro?
Jobber is the comparison this post runs: both handle scheduling, quotes, invoicing and online booking, with a mobile app for the field. Google's own list of booking partners for Google Ads also names ServiceTitan and Workiz alongside Jobber and Housecall Pro.
Is Jobber a good CRM?
Jobber calls itself a field service CRM on its own features page and keeps a client's details, job history and past emails and texts on one profile, plus a lead tag for contacts who have not booked yet. Whether that counts as good depends on whether you need more than a job-linked customer record, which is what this comparison is built around.
Written by
Alexander Cheberko
Marketing Analytics & Conversion Tracking Engineer, US and Canada, run remotely
- Media buyer on Google Ads and Meta Ads from October 2023 to September 2025, nearly $700K in spend.
- Set up patient conversion tracking for a New York medical practice (anonymized).
- Upwork Top Rated, 5.0 from 20 reviews.