For a salon with staff, Vagaro vs GlossGenius comes down to how renters get paid and where new clients come from, not the monthly price. Vagaro can collect rent from renters and runs a consumer marketplace; GlossGenius can pay renters straight into their own bank accounts.
I haven't used either one. Everything below comes from their own pricing pages and help centers.
Quick answer
- Renters who keep their own card sales: look at GlossGenius separate bank accounts, Gold plan and up.
- Renters who pay you rent: look at Vagaro's rent collection, which can net commission against rent.
- Before opting in to Vagaro Daily Deals, price in the 20% fee on each new customer.
- Running ads: GlossGenius tracking needs Platinum; Vagaro's needs a Google Analytics (GA4) ID in MySite.
- For the monthly bill, read what Vagaro costs and GlossGenius's plans and card fees.
Side by side for a team
The table shows only what each vendor's own pages state. "Not stated" means I found nothing, so it becomes a question for the demo.
| Question | Vagaro | GlossGenius |
|---|---|---|
| Employees on commission | Payroll with custom commission tiers and direct deposit | One rate per person on Gold, per-service rates on Platinum; payroll is an add-on |
| Booth renters | Rent collection that can deduct commission from rent | Separate bank accounts on Gold and Platinum |
| New-client marketplace | Free listing; deals cost 20% per new customer | Not stated |
| Google booking | All businesses, once past the free trial | Gold and Platinum |
| Your own domain | Connect one to MySite | Forward one to the booking site |
| Ad tracking | GA4 ID in MySite | Google Analytics and Meta Pixel, Platinum only |
Paying staff and renters
The two tools picture a renter differently. On GlossGenius, the owner can switch on separate bank accounts for a team member. Every sale checked out under that person's name then goes straight to their own bank.
That suits a renter who runs their own book.
A renter who sells your retail needs a second "Retail" team account, a workaround GlossGenius documents so product money reaches you.
Vagaro's rent collection bills each renter on a schedule you set, from weekly to monthly, with a backup payment method on file. Its Deduct Commission from Rent setting lets a renter's commission lower the rent they owe. Vagaro charges you, the owner, a processing fee on each rent payment.
Classifying a renter as a contractor is a tax question that neither app answers. Ask your accountant, and read the IRS page on employee or independent contractor. In Canada, the Canada Revenue Agency decides status from the actual working relationship, as its employment status page explains.
Where new clients come from
Vagaro runs a consumer marketplace, and its marketplace page lists $0 in booking fees. The same page says many listed businesses make up to $75,000 a year from new marketplace clients.
That figure is Vagaro's marketing claim. Its footnote assumes 13 new repeat customers a month at $100 per appointment and a 75% retention rate. It doesn't say how many visits a year each client makes, so treat it as sales math, not a forecast.
For a team, that fee reaches pay. Vagaro's payroll figures commission on the service price minus the booking fee, so a stylist earns less on a deal booking. Tell staff before you opt in.
GlossGenius's pricing page lists no marketplace, and I found no help article about one.
Google booking has fine print on both sides:
- Vagaro puts the Book Online button on Google only after the free trial. You also need online booking on, an appointment in the last 30 days and a business address.
- GlossGenius offers Reserve with Google on Gold and Platinum. Clients must be able to cancel online, and services with a hidden price are left out.
- Both say to leave the booking-link field in your Google profile empty, or the Book button may not appear.
If it's still missing, run through the checks for a missing Book button.
Deposits and no-show fees
Both take deposits and keep cards on file; they differ in whom you can target. GlossGenius's cancellation settings require a card from all clients, new clients or no one, and the cancellation fee is a percentage.
Vagaro's deposit settings take a fixed amount or a percentage. You choose who pays: new customers, existing ones, mobile-service bookings, or customers with a past no-show or cancellation.
When a client cancels or no-shows, GlossGenius lets you keep or refund the deposit. The deposit and the cancellation fee together can't exceed the service price. Vagaro says you keep the deposit on a no-show or cancellation, and refunds can be set to run automatically.
Your website and your own domain
Vagaro's MySite is the website builder, and you can connect a domain you own through its DNS records (the settings at your domain provider that point the address to a site); a subdomain can't be connected. GlossGenius builds a booking site from templates. For a domain you already own, it says your provider can forward it to the booking site.
For a site that is more than a booking page, read the booking app's site versus your own.
Counting which ad brought the booking
GlossGenius lists Google Analytics and Meta Pixel tracking on Platinum only, and the person who sets it up needs the Manage Salon Website permission. On Vagaro, you paste a GA4 Measurement ID into the MySite editor, and the setup article says to test it with the cookie banner accepted. It also describes importing a GA4 key event into Google Ads as a conversion.
Vagaro's Source report adds a second view without any code. It splits online bookings by Marketplace, Google, Instagram, Facebook, the widget, email or text campaigns and Daily Deals, next to in-house bookings. A filter separates new customers from returning ones.
It names channels, not ad campaigns. Ask both vendors whether UTM tags, the source labels an ad adds to a link, survive into the booking record, and whether a Meta Pixel fires on a completed booking.
Prices and rules checked on 2026-10-25.
Tags
Frequently asked questions
Do Vagaro's Daily Deals fees come out of my stylists' commission?
They can. Vagaro's help center says that when you pay commission through its payroll, commission is figured on the service price minus the booking fee. Daily Deals and Vera Fill My Books carry that fee: 20% when a new customer books and 5% for an existing one. Vagaro says a business that uses neither pays no booking fees.
Can booth renters be paid into their own bank accounts?
On GlossGenius, yes: its help center lists separate bank accounts on the Gold and Platinum plans, and each renter links their own account. Vagaro works the other way round: the owner collects rent and can deduct commission from it. Pick based on whether your renters run their own sales or pay you rent.
Is GlossGenius free?
No. GlossGenius says it has no free plan, though any plan can be tried free for 14 days with no credit card. Features that matter to a team, such as Google booking and per-service commission rates, sit on the higher plans.
Can commission staff and booth renters share one account?
Both apps take both kinds of worker. GlossGenius lists commission-based providers and booth renters among its team members, but advises against separate bank accounts for commission staff, because those pay out 100% of each sale. Vagaro collects rent from renters and can set their commission against it.
Will either one move my client list for me?
Vagaro's pricing page says it will help you switch for free, and GlossGenius's pricing page lists a free data transfer on every plan. Ask each what it imports, such as notes, photos, packages and card-on-file data, before you cancel the old system.
Written by
Marketing Analytics & Conversion Tracking Engineer, US and Canada, run remotely
- Media buyer on Google Ads and Meta Ads from October 2023 to September 2025, nearly $700K in spend.
- Set up patient conversion tracking for a New York medical practice (anonymized).
- Upwork Top Rated Plus, 5.0 from 20 reviews.
