All posts
Owner Guides

Smokeball Pricing: Plans, Contract and 3-Year Cost

Smokeball prints no price for its four US plans; every number is a quote. What the page does state, and a worksheet for the first three years.

October 12, 2026·7 min read·by Alexander Cheberko
Table of contentstap to expand

Smokeball does not publish a price for any of its four US plans: Bill, Boost, Grow and Prosper+ each show a "Get pricing" button, and every number comes from a quote. That makes the quote and the contract the real subject: what they must contain, and what the firm pays over three years.

Quick answer

On Smokeball's own US page there are no dollar amounts, no billing-period labels and no stated minimum. The page says the price depends on the number of users, the plan, the contract term and optional products, and that migration costs are confirmed in the quote (Smokeball pricing, checked 2026-10-12). I used only that US page; the Australian site is a separate market with its own plans and prices, and none of its figures apply here.

Ask for a written quote that lists every line separately, then fill in the worksheet below for years one to three. If you want to compare against a vendor that does print a number, the Clio and MyCase comparison shows how that looks.

What does the Smokeball pricing page actually commit to?

Four plans, as the page describes them: Bill is billing, trust accounting and payments. Boost adds browser-based case management. Grow adds the native desktop application and, per the page, suits firms with three or more staff who work on the same matters. Prosper+ brings firm operations together and adds reporting and lead management (Smokeball pricing, checked 2026-10-12).

The FAQ also says there is no limit on how many firm users or clients can use the software at the same time. That is a statement about access, not about what you are billed for: the same FAQ says price depends on the number of users. Ask which users count as billable.

PlanPublished priceBilled howWhat it addsSource tracking
BillNone, quote onlyNot statedInvoicing, time and expense tracking, online payments, trust accountingLead reporting not available per the reports article
BoostNone, quote onlyNot statedBrowser-based client and matter management, client portal, eSignature, eFiling; Intake is an add-onReferral fields on matters and leads; lead reports with the Intake add-on
GrowNone, quote onlyNot statedPractice area templates, advanced document automation, email management; AutoTime and Intake as add-onsReferral fields and custom referral types; lead reports with the Intake add-on
Prosper+None, quote onlyNot statedFirm Insights reporting, lead management, inquiry intake, workflows and AutoTime includedReferral fields, Lead Insights, New Matter Insights

The plan contents are from the pricing page; the last column draws on Smokeball's reports article (Smokeball Reports, checked 2026-10-12) and the referral help articles linked below, and where the pricing grid and the reports article differ on lead reports for Boost and Grow, I followed the article, so confirm it with the rep. Smokeball uses several overlapping names, such as Intake, Inquiry intake, Advanced matter intake and Lead management, so ask the rep to list which are in your plan and which are add-ons.

What does Smokeball say about the contract?

Little. The pricing FAQ names the contract term as one of the things that set your price. It says that at renewal you can renew as is, or upgrade or downgrade (Smokeball pricing, checked 2026-10-12). I found nothing on that page about how renewal prices are set, the notice period for cancelling, or what happens to your data if you leave.

Treat each of those as a question for the order form, not an assumption. A contract term is the stretch you commit to pay for; the renewal clause says what happens when it ends. Ask for the term, the renewal date, whether the per-user rate is fixed for the term, how much notice cancellation needs, and in what file format your matters, documents and billing records come out, and when.

What will setup, training and payments add?

The FAQ says training comes through live sessions, guided resources and the Smokeball Academy, and that data migration options exist for firms moving from another system. It adds that the recommended approach depends on the source platform, the types of data and the complexity, and that migration costs are confirmed in your quote (Smokeball pricing, checked 2026-10-12). Get those line items in writing and do not assume they are free.

Payments are the other open line. The plan grid marks online payments on every plan, and trust management on Prosper+, as "Fees apply", with no rate. If the fee is a percentage of each payment, it grows with the firm's collections. That would be the one cost that follows revenue instead of headcount.

What would four users cost over three years?

Illustrative: every number below is made up for an imaginary four-person firm, and none comes from a client or from Smokeball; the quote values are placeholders for you to replace with your own.

LineYear 1Year 2Year 3
Licenses: 4 users x $150 a month x 12$7,200
Licenses after a 10% rise each renewal$7,920$8,712
Data migration, one time$1,500
Training, one time$800
Payment processing: $120,000 collected online x 3%$3,600$3,600$3,600
Total$13,100$11,520$12,312

The three-year total is $13,100 + $11,520 + $12,312 = $36,932. The formula is users x quoted monthly price x 12, plus one-time items in year one, plus your yearly online collections x the processing rate. The 10% rise is a made-up what-if, not a Smokeball policy; what it shows is that a renewal clause left blank adds $720 in year two and $1,512 in year three here, so test your own number. Another firm might see an add-on such as AutoTime as a further line.

Can Smokeball show which ads brought a paying client?

Partly, and only from what someone enters. Smokeball's Firm Insights page says Lead Insights and New Matter Insights rank leads and matters by referral source, and that you can see the share of leads that became clients (Smokeball Firm Insights, checked 2026-10-12). Its help article says referral details are recorded through Introducer, Referral Type and Referrer menus on a lead or matter on Boost, Grow and Prosper+ (Smokeball Support, checked 2026-10-12), and a firm owner on Grow or Prosper+ can add custom referral types (Smokeball Support, checked 2026-10-12). The dashboards article, labeled for Prosper+, says the report can help you decide where to spend on advertising (Smokeball Support, checked 2026-10-12).

What I did not find in these pages is a field for a Google Ads campaign, keyword or click ID, or an export that sends a signed matter back to Google Ads. A referral type such as "Google" is a label a person picks; it cannot tell a brand search from a paid ad. Smokeball's intake page says forms can be embedded on your site so inquiries land in Smokeball (Smokeball Intake, checked 2026-10-12); it does not say whether a form can fill the referral field, so ask.

The law firm CRM field list covers which fields to capture, and the intake process post covers the steps before a lead is recorded. If you are weighing a separate intake tool next to it, see the Lawmatics pricing breakdown.

What goes in writing before you sign with Smokeball?

  • What is the exact per-user monthly price for each plan I am comparing, and is it billed monthly or annually?
  • What is the contract term, and is the per-user price fixed until it ends?
  • At renewal, how is the price set, and how many days of written notice do you need to cancel?
  • Which users count toward the price?
  • Which of Intake, AutoTime, Workflows and Archie AI are in my plan, and which are add-ons with their own price?
  • What does migration from my current system cost, and what exactly is moved?
  • What are the card and bank-transfer rates for online payments, and does trust management carry its own fee?
  • If I leave, which file formats do I get, and how long does the export take?
  • Which referral field will my intake form fill in, and who checks it is filled in?

Tags

smokeball-pricinglaw-firm-softwarelegal-practice-managementlaw-firm-contractlead-source-trackingsmall-law-firm

Frequently asked questions

How much does Smokeball cost per month?

Smokeball's US pricing page prints no dollar amount for any of its four plans; each one has a Get pricing button. Its FAQ says the price depends on the number of users, the plan, the contract term and any optional products, and that you can request a no-obligation quote ([Smokeball pricing](https://www.smokeball.com/pricing), checked 2026-10-12). Any monthly figure you read elsewhere is a third party's estimate, not a published Smokeball price.

Which Smokeball plan includes automatic time tracking?

Smokeball's FAQ says AutoTime, its automatic time and activity tracking, is included with Prosper+, and that Grow users can buy it as an add-on ([Smokeball pricing](https://www.smokeball.com/pricing), checked 2026-10-12). The comparison grid on the same page lists time tracking as manual on Bill, Boost and Grow. Ask whether the add-on is a separate per-user line in your quote.

Does Smokeball charge extra for payments and trust accounting?

The plan comparison marks online payments on all four plans, and trust management on Prosper+, with "Fees apply", and it prints no rate ([Smokeball pricing](https://www.smokeball.com/pricing), checked 2026-10-12). Ask for the rate per card and per bank transfer in writing before you sign. Trust accounting rules come from your state bar, or in Canada your provincial law society; this is not legal advice and I am not a lawyer.

What happens at renewal with Smokeball?

The FAQ says that at renewal you can keep your current plan or upgrade or downgrade to add or remove features ([Smokeball pricing](https://www.smokeball.com/pricing), checked 2026-10-12). It does not say whether the per-user price can change at renewal or how much notice you get. Put that question to the sales rep and get the answer in the order form.

Can Smokeball show which referral source brings the most clients?

Smokeball's Firm Insights page says New Matter Insights ranks matters by referral source and Lead Insights does the same for leads ([Smokeball Firm Insights](https://www.smokeball.com/features/manage/firm-insights), checked 2026-10-12), and the help center labels these dashboards as a Prosper+ feature ([Smokeball Support](https://support.smokeball.com/hc/en-us/articles/5963661872535-Use-Firm-Insights-Dashboards), checked 2026-10-12). Those reports rest on referral fields you fill in, such as a Referral Type and a Referrer, not a feed from Google Ads. A paid-ad click needs its own record.

Written by

Alexander Cheberko

Marketing Analytics & Conversion Tracking Engineer, US and Canada, run remotely

LinkedIn

Related posts