On three of the four massage therapy software pricing pages I read, the cheapest plan covers the calendar and basic notes, and text reminders cost a tier more. Insurance decides the rest: a therapist who sends claims to a health plan electronically is a HIPAA covered entity.
Quick answer
- List how many sessions last month were billed to a health insurer, not paid by the client.
- Check which plan on each pricing page adds text reminders.
- If you bill a health plan electronically, ask each vendor about a business associate agreement.
- Test one couples booking and one back-to-back booking in the trial.
- Put a "How did you hear about us?" question on the intake form.
Start with who pays for the session
HIPAA's own definition settles it. Under it, "a health care provider who transmits any health information in electronic form in connection with a transaction covered by this subchapter" is a covered entity. A claim sent to a health plan, such as a health insurer, is such a transaction.
Covered or not, intake answers about medications and injuries are sensitive. Look for a vendor that stores them behind a login and lets you export them. I'm not a lawyer and this isn't legal advice; for a ruling on your practice, ask a health care lawyer or your professional association.
In Canada the question is different. Ontario's PHIPA counts a registered massage therapist who provides health care as a health care practitioner. A practitioner with custody or control of personal health information from that work is a health information custodian, unless acting as another custodian's agent. Elsewhere in Canada, check your province's health privacy law.
What the printed plans include
Four vendors, from their own pricing pages (MassageBook, ClinicSense, Noterro, GlossGenius) read on 2026-10-25. Prices are the lowest monthly plan as printed.
| Vendor | Starting price | SOAP notes | Insurance billing | BAA, as stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MassageBook | $29, or $21.75 for AMTA members | Basic on Launch, premium on Practice | Insurance billing receipts from Practice; claims not stated | Not stated |
| ClinicSense | $39, or $35.75 billed annually | All plans | TELUS eClaims (Canada) from Standard; US claims not stated | Page says "HIPAA compliant"; BAA not mentioned |
| Noterro | $33, or $28.05 billed annually | Charts on all plans | Superbills on Plus; claims on Max | Page says "HIPAA Compliant"; BAA not mentioned |
| GlossGenius | $28, or $24 billed annually | Listed; confirm which plan | Not stated | Pricing page lists HIPAA compliance as a free add-on; its massage page offers it "for businesses that submit a Business Associate Agreement (BAA)" |
A "HIPAA compliant" line on a pricing page isn't a contract. If you are a covered entity, ask each vendor in writing whether it signs a business associate agreement. That is the written promise HIPAA requires from a vendor handling your clients' health information. Ask to read it before you subscribe.
MassageBook's pricing page opens on its AMTA member prices, 25% off. ABMP members get 10% off, and the Standard Pricing tab shows $29, $59 and $99. For Jane, which is built for clinics and prices in Canadian dollars, my Jane App pricing post has the plans.
Where the cheap plan stops
The base price buys the calendar, and on three of these four, basic notes. On those three, text reminders cost a tier more. MassageBook's couples bookings and Noterro's claims sit two tiers up.
Other limits I found on the vendors' pages:
- MassageBook's Launch plan allows 3 services. Intake forms and text reminders start on Practice. Couples bookings and room assignment start on Clinic.
- MassageBook's in-person card rate is 2.6% + $0.15. The page prints no rate for online or keyed-in payments.
- Noterro's pricing page lists email reminders on Core and text reminders from Plus. Each plan includes 300 AI credits, which the page equates to 18 minutes of its Scribe recording, then $0.01 a credit.
- Noterro and ClinicSense charge per extra practitioner. A third therapist raises the price on both.
Booking rules to test in the trial
Book these four cases yourself during the free trial.
- A 60-minute session followed by a 15-minute buffer. Check that no client can book into the buffer.
- Two therapists, one room. Check that the software blocks a double-booking.
- A couples massage. Check that one booking takes two therapists and one room.
- A gift card or package. Buy it online, then use it on the next booking.
A reminder that names a service or a condition can be health information under the same federal definition. If you are a covered entity, my HIPAA text messaging post covers what a reminder can say.
What the claims plan costs per insurance session
Repeat it with your own numbers: the plan with claims, minus the plan without, divided by last month's insurance sessions.
Count where first visits come from
A booking tool shows bookings, not what drove them. The simplest fix is a "How did you hear about us?" question on the intake form, with a fixed list: Google, Instagram, a friend, a referral, other. Massage therapy marketing covers what to do with the answers.
You can also tag your booking link. A tag is a short label added to the end of a link, such as ?utm_source=google, that names where the click came from. Put one tagged link on your Google Business Profile, which allows up to 10 booking links, and another in your Instagram bio. Book a test appointment from each to see whether your software records the tag.
What to ask a vendor before you pay
Ask each vendor:
- What happens to your notes and intake forms if you cancel. ClinicSense says that on cancellation you can download one ZIP file of client files and appointments.
- Which plan includes text reminders, intake forms and signed consent.
- Whether a second room or therapist means a plan change or an add-on.
- What a card payment costs online, in person and keyed in.
Prices and rules checked on 2026-10-25.
Tags
Frequently asked questions
Do massage therapists need HIPAA-compliant software?
Only if the practice is a HIPAA covered entity, which for a provider means it sends health information electronically for a standard transaction such as a claim to a health insurer. A cash-only therapist may fall outside that definition, but still owes clients careful handling of intake answers and notes. This is not legal advice; ask a health care lawyer or your professional association about your own case.
What is the difference between SOAP notes and an intake form?
An intake form is what the client fills in before the first visit: health history, medications, areas to avoid, consent. SOAP notes are what you write after each session: Subjective (what the client says), Objective (what you find), Assessment and Plan. The intake form starts the record and the SOAP notes grow it.
Can I use my own phone calendar instead of massage software?
For a handful of clients, yes. It stops working when you need signed consent stored somewhere, reminders that send themselves, or two rooms and a couples table that can't be double-booked. Those are the three jobs the paid plans are selling.
Can a massage booking tool show which listing brought a client?
Only if the link carries a tag. Put a different tag on the booking link in your Google Business Profile and on Instagram, then check which tag the booking page records. If the software has no field for it, ask the new client once and write the answer on their record.
Is there free massage booking software?
Some tools offer a free trial, and I did not find a free plan on the four vendors' pricing pages I read for this post. Their trials run 14 or 30 days with no card. Read what happens to your client records if you cancel before you start a trial.
Written by
Marketing Analytics & Conversion Tracking Engineer, US and Canada, run remotely
- Media buyer on Google Ads and Meta Ads from October 2023 to September 2025, nearly $700K in spend.
- Set up patient conversion tracking for a New York medical practice (anonymized).
- Upwork Top Rated Plus, 5.0 from 20 reviews.
