You are opening a chiropractic clinic or leaving paper or an old system, and every vendor says it is built for chiropractors. The software that fits is the one that handles your care plans, your Medicare notes and your ad bookings in a demo you watch, not one that tops a list.
Quick answer
- Write down your must-haves from the checklist below before any demo.
- Ask each vendor to enter a Medicare patient live, plan and AT modifier included.
- Book a test visit through a tagged link and find the tag afterward.
- Get price, setup fee, export file and cancellation notice in writing.
- Count care plans accepted by ad source, not only first visits.
What must chiropractic software do that a general EHR may not?
It must write notes the way Medicare reads chiropractic claims, track a series of visits, and take cash and insurance payments in one ledger. An EHR (electronic health record) that does only the first part leaves you with spreadsheets for the rest.
| Must-have | What it means | Ask the vendor to show |
|---|---|---|
| Subluxation diagnosis | Medicare requires the primary diagnosis to be subluxation, with its spinal level | A claim with the level entered |
| Treatment plan | Duration and frequency of visits, goals, objective measures | The plan saved and shown at later visits |
| AT modifier | Marks active, corrective care on a Medicare claim | How the modifier is set per visit |
| Visit packages | Prepaid or planned series of visits | Selling a package and using up a visit |
| Mixed billing | Insurance claims and cash patients in one ledger | One patient paying both ways |
| Intake with source | A required "how did you hear about us" field | The field in an export |
The Medicare manual sets these rules in Chapter 15, section 240. It says the treatment plan should include the "recommended level of care (duration and frequency of visits)", specific goals and objective measures.
Once no further improvement can reasonably be expected and care turns supportive rather than corrective, the manual calls it maintenance therapy, which Medicare does not cover. The AT modifier "must not be placed on the claim" for maintenance therapy, and even with the modifier, contractors may deny a claim after medical review.
I am not a billing expert, so ask your biller to confirm what your claims need.
What should the software record from ad click to care plan?
At each step below, the software must keep one fact you can find later. If a step loses it, you cannot tell which ads bring patients who stay.
A UTM tag is a label such as utm_source=google added to a link to show where a click came from, and not every booking tool keeps it. Once the tag is saved, counting bookings in Google Ads is the next step.
What do six vendors state on their own pages?
The table holds only what each vendor's own page says, in no ranked order. "Not stated" means the page I read was silent, so it becomes a question for the sales call.
| System | Runs on | Printed price | Online booking | Care plans or packages |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChiroTouch | Cloud, per its home page | None; plans Start, Grow, Scale | Not stated | Mentioned only in SmartFit exercise add-on copy |
| ChiroFusion | Cloud | Starts at $129 a month | Online scheduling stated | Monthly wellness plans; care plans not stated |
| Genesis by ClinicMind | Cloud (ClinicMind EHR 2.0) | From $2 a visit; billing plans add fees | Self-scheduling | Care plans stated; packages not stated |
| Jane | Not stated | CAD $59, $79 or $99 a month, before extra practitioners | Booking site on all plans | Packages and memberships on Thrive only |
| ChiroUp | Not stated | No list price; as low as $299/mo for NCMIC members | Online scheduling on the EHR plan | Patient rehab plans; packages not stated |
| SimplePractice | Not stated | Solo $49, $79 or $99 a month; group $99 plus $74 per extra clinician | Online appointment requests listed | Treatment plans listed; packages not stated |
A few more details from the same pages, worth raising at the demo:
- ChiroTouch lists intake forms that flow into SOAP notes (the standard visit note) and card payments in person, online or by phone. Its pricing page says insurance billing tools are optional add-ons.
- ChiroFusion lists online intake with self check-in, and says it moves demographic data from your old system at no cost.
- Genesis lists SOAP notes, integrated billing and an intake form for your website. Its page mentions "one monthly subscription", while ClinicMind's chiropractic pricing charges per completed visit, so ask which applies.
- ChiroUp EHR is available in the U.S. only, its page says.
- Jane's pricing page does not mention chiropractic features. Insurance billing is a paid add-on there; my Jane pricing guide has more.
- SimplePractice's chiropractor page lists no chiropractic-specific features.
Can I check whether a booking keeps the ad click?
Yes. One test booking takes about ten minutes, and you can run it before you sign.
- Open your own ad's landing page, or add
?utm_source=test&utm_medium=cpcto your site's address. - Click through to the vendor's booking page and book a test visit with a made-up name.
- Complete the intake form and check whether it asks how you heard about the clinic.
- Open the appointment in the software, then export the day's bookings.
- Look for the tag in the export. If it is missing, ask the vendor what stores it.
Also note whether the booking page lives on your domain or the vendor's. If it sits on the vendor's domain, ask how the click reaches your analytics.
How do two systems compare for a two-doctor clinic?
Compare cost per visit first. It puts a monthly price and a per-visit price on the same scale. Then compare what each system lets you count.
Illustrative: every number below is made up for an imaginary two-doctor chiropractic clinic, and none comes from a client.
The clinic sees 900 visits a month, spends $2,000 a month on ads, and is choosing between two systems.
| System A | System B | |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly software cost | $540 | $330 |
| Cost per visit (cost / 900) | $0.60 | $0.37 |
| Keeps ad tag on the booking | Yes | No |
| Ad-booked first visits | 40 | Unknown |
| Care plans accepted from them | 24 (24 / 40 = 60%) | Unknown |
| Ad cost per plan accepted | $83.33 ($2,000 / 24) | Cannot be worked out |
System B saves $210 a month ($540 less $330), or about 23 cents a visit. System A shows which ads bring care plans. If you spend $2,000 on ads, decide whether knowing that is worth $210 a month to you.
What should you ask at the demo and before signing?
- Can I see a Medicare visit entered, with the plan and AT modifier?
- What is the monthly price, setup fee and claims fee, in writing?
- If the price is per visit, which visits are charged?
- Which payments and packages does the ledger handle together?
- Where does the online booking page live, and does it keep UTM tags?
- Can the intake source field be required and exported?
- What file do I get if I leave, and what does it cost?
- How long is the contract, and what notice cancels it?
In Canada, U.S. Medicare rules do not apply, so check your provincial college and health plan rules. A source field saved on a patient's record is personal information under PIPEDA, the federal private-sector privacy law. Alberta, British Columbia and Quebec have their own private-sector laws, and Ontario, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland and Labrador have health information laws.
For a wider EHR checklist, see choosing an EHR.
Prices and rules checked on 2026-10-23.
Tags
Frequently asked questions
How much does ChiroTouch cost?
ChiroTouch does not print a price. Its pricing page names three plans, Start, Grow and Scale, and sends you to a demo or an expert. Claims are priced by monthly volume or as an unlimited option, with no rates shown. Insurance billing tools are add-ons, so get the full monthly figure in writing.
Do I need chiropractic-specific software, or will a general EHR do?
A general EHR can work if it lets you write the notes and plans Medicare expects and sell visit packages. The test is the demo, not the label. Ask the vendor to enter one Medicare patient with a subluxation diagnosis, a treatment plan and an AT modifier while you watch.
Which chiropractic systems offer a free trial?
Two of the six vendors mention one on their pages. SimplePractice describes a free trial that runs up to 30 days, and ChiroUp offers 14 days free on its Essentials plan, while for its EHR it suggests a sandbox or a demo. Jane says it has no free trial and offers a demo account instead. ChiroTouch, ChiroFusion and Genesis point to demos.
Will my care plans and Medicare notes come with me if I switch later?
None of the vendor pages I read state what an export includes, its file format or its fee. ChiroFusion's home page describes moving demographic data in at no cost, which is the way in, not out. Before signing, ask each vendor for the export format, whether notes and billing history are included, any fee, and the notice needed to cancel.
Written by
Marketing Analytics & Conversion Tracking Engineer, US and Canada, run remotely
- Media buyer on Google Ads and Meta Ads from October 2023 to September 2025, nearly $700K in spend.
- Set up patient conversion tracking for a New York medical practice (anonymized).
- Upwork Top Rated Plus, 5.0 from 20 reviews.
