Tebra and DrChrono both sell EHR and practice management software to independent practices, and neither publishes a flat price on its own pricing page. Below is what each does publish, side by side, and what neither documents about tracing a booking back to an ad.
Quick answer
Open both pricing pages before a sales call: tebra.com/pricing lists five plans and drchrono.com/pricing three, none with a price. Get the real number in writing for your provider count, not a range. Then add the published add-ons and per-item fees, the only concrete numbers either vendor states, to build a 12-month total. Before you sign, ask whether the online scheduler saves anything about the ad or link a patient came from, because I found no documentation on either vendor's site that it does.
Who is Tebra, and who is DrChrono?
Tebra is what Kareo and PatientPop became: its own press release says the two "joined forces to form Tebra" in 2021, and both old websites now redirect to tebra.com (Tebra, checked 2026-10-06). Its pricing page puts it plainly: "Kareo is now part of Tebra" (Tebra pricing, checked 2026-10-06). If you still pay Kareo, ask which current Tebra plan your contract maps to.
DrChrono is sold under the name "DrChrono by EverHealth," and its About page places it in the EverHealth family alongside CollaborateMD and Updox (DrChrono, checked 2026-10-06). So Tebra is the company itself, while DrChrono is one of several healthcare products under one parent.
What does each one publish about price?
Both pages skip the base subscription price but publish some add-on and per-item fees.
| Line item | Tebra, as published | DrChrono, as published | Ask in the demo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plan names | All in One, EHR+, Patient Experience + Marketing, EHR Starter, Billing Starter; its FAQ also names two bundles, Practice Essentials and Practice Automation | Foundation, Growth, Premium | Which plan matches your provider count |
| Base subscription | Not published; "tailored during the demo process" (Tebra pricing, checked 2026-10-06) | Not published; "Request A Quote" (DrChrono pricing, checked 2026-10-06) | The number in writing, not a range |
| Who counts as a provider | One "prescribing provider" per subscription, meaning an MD, DO, nurse practitioner (NP) or physician assistant (PA); unlimited non-clinical staff; lower-tier pricing for providers who bill 100 claims or less a month (Tebra pricing, checked 2026-10-06) | Not stated; staff accounts listed as unlimited on every plan | For DrChrono, how an NP or PA is counted; for Tebra, whether a part-time provider qualifies for the lower tier |
| Named add-ons | EPCS setup (identity checks for e-prescribing controlled substances), about $75 per provider one time; PDMP integration (the state prescription monitoring database check), $500 one time per facility plus about $50 per user a year (Tebra pricing, checked 2026-10-06) | Extended lab integration, $30 per provider a month; Medication Management, Medical Speech-to-Text and EverHealth Scribe listed as add-ons with no price (DrChrono pricing, checked 2026-10-06) | Full add-on list priced for your configuration |
| Per-item fees | Not published on the pricing page | $0.05 per text, $0.07 per fax page, $0.10 per phone call past plan limits; $1.00 per paper claim; $0.90 per mailed statement, $0.59 per electronic statement; $1.50 per workers' comp claim; card processing at 3.25% plus $0.30, with a $5 program fee (DrChrono pricing, checked 2026-10-06) | Which of these apply at your expected volume, and how often the $5 program fee is charged |
| Billing as a percentage of collections | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pricing page | Flat fee or a percentage, and what percentage |
Neither page says what a two-provider practice actually pays, and the published add-ons are not like for like: Tebra prices two prescribing add-ons, DrChrono prices lab, messaging and payment fees.
What would two providers actually pay in a year?
Illustrative: this two-provider family practice is imaginary, its subscription quote, prescriber logins and card payments are made up, and none comes from a client or a vendor quote; the add-on rates are the published ones cited in the table above.
Say both vendors quote the same invented $500 per provider a month, so the subscription is $500 x 2 x 12 = $12,000 a year on either side and only the published add-ons differ.
On Tebra's published add-ons: EPCS setup is about $75 x 2 providers = $150 one time, and PDMP for one facility with two prescriber logins is $500 + ($50 x 2) = $600 in year one. Year one: $12,000 + $150 + $600 = $12,750.
On DrChrono's published add-ons: extended lab integration is $30 x 2 x 12 = $720. Card processing on an invented $4,000 a month in patient card payments across 40 transactions is ($4,000 x 0.0325) + (40 x $0.30) = $130 + $12 = $142 a month, or $1,704 a year. Year one: $12,000 + $720 + $1,704 = $14,424, before the $5 program fee, whose frequency the page does not state.
The $1,674 gap is not a finding about either vendor. It appears only because DrChrono publishes its card rate and Tebra's pricing page does not, while Tebra publishes prescribing fees that DrChrono's page does not. Before you compare totals, ask Tebra for its card processing rate and DrChrono for its EPCS and PDMP costs, then run both through the same formula: 12-month cost = (subscription x providers x 12) + one-time fees + yearly per-user fees + (monthly usage fees x 12).
What size and type of practice does each vendor say it fits?
Tebra's homepage calls it software "built for private practices" and lists primary care, mental health, pediatrics, dermatology, chiropractic and podiatry among the specialties that use it (Tebra, checked 2026-10-06). On size, its pricing page offers lower-tier pricing for providers who bill 100 claims or less a month and volume incentives for larger groups (Tebra pricing, checked 2026-10-06).
DrChrono's EHR page sorts buyers by practice type, New Practice, Small Practice, Large Practice and Multi-Specialty, says its platform runs "from single-provider clinics to multi-specialty operations," and offers specialty templates "covering 20+ medical fields" (DrChrono, checked 2026-10-06).
Neither page rules out a practice with one to five providers. At the demo, ask which of the vendor's own categories and plans your specialty and provider count fall into.
What does each one show you about booking a patient online?
Tebra's patient experience page describes 24/7 self-scheduling that lets a patient "book from your website, Google, or Tebra Care Connect," with real-time availability synced to calendars inside the EHR, plus automated reminders by text, email or phone (Tebra, checked 2026-10-06).
DrChrono's OnPatient portal covers "scheduling to secure messaging and online payments," and the homepage lists digital intake forms, e-signatures, real-time access to visit summaries and automated booking and reminders (DrChrono, checked 2026-10-06). Its pricing page lists a Scheduling Widget for Website among plan features (DrChrono pricing, checked 2026-10-06).
Neither vendor says whether an online booking keeps anything about how the patient found the practice. I found no mention, on either one's scheduling pages, of a UTM tag (the campaign labels added to an ad's link), a click id (the code Google Ads adds to each ad click) or a marketing-source field saved with the booking. The checks in what to look for before buying patient scheduling software apply to both schedulers.
Can either one tell you which ad brought the booking?
Not from anything either vendor documents. Tebra's "book from your website, Google" line is about where a booking starts, not which ad led there. I found no documentation of a connection to Google Ads or GA4 (Google Analytics 4, Google's website analytics) on Tebra's patient experience, online scheduling or pricing pages, or on DrChrono's homepage, EHR or pricing pages.
Both do document a way to get appointment data out, which is the other half of the answer. Tebra's Help Center describes a SOAP API (an older style of data connection for developers) that can retrieve appointments, one at a time or in bulk, once a System Administrator generates a customer key (Tebra Help Center, checked 2026-10-06). Its technical guide lists appointment statuses such as Scheduled, Confirmed, CheckedIn, CheckedOut, NoShow and Cancelled, and a ReferralSource field on the patient record (Tebra API guide, checked 2026-10-06).
DrChrono publishes documentation for an OAuth REST API (a web connection a developer opens with the practice's permission), with appointment statuses such as Arrived, Complete, Cancelled and No Show, and a "Referring source" text field on the patient (DrChrono API, checked 2026-10-06). A referral-source field on the patient is not an ad click. I found no documentation that either online scheduler fills that field, or any other, from a UTM tag or a click id.
Once appointment status can leave the EHR, what should leave and what should stay decides whether the setup is safe: a click id, a value and a time go to the ad account, nothing that identifies the patient. My own patient conversion tracking for an anonymized NYC medical practice sends only those three, and the setup is HIPAA-conscious by design rather than resting on a compliance promise from a software vendor. In Ontario, a health care practitioner, or whoever operates a group practice of them, is a "health information custodian" under the Personal Health Information Protection Act, 2004, which sets the rules for collecting, using and disclosing personal health information, so an Ontario practice checks this boundary against that Act rather than HIPAA (Ontario, checked 2026-10-06).
What should you ask before you sign?
- The exact 12-month total for your provider count and specialty, in writing, not a range.
- How a provider is counted: DrChrono's page does not say, and Tebra's lower tier for 100 claims or less a month may fit a part-time provider.
- Whether managed billing, if you use it, is a flat fee or a percentage of collections, and what percentage.
- Whether the online scheduler saves a UTM tag, a click id or any marketing-source field with the appointment, and whether that field can be exported.
- Which appointment statuses and fields the API or a scheduled report export carries, and who at the practice can switch API access on.
- Whether the vendor signs a business associate agreement (the HIPAA contract a vendor signs before handling patient data) and which products it covers.
Neither vendor's public pages answer all six for your practice, so get the answers in writing at the demo.
Tags
Frequently asked questions
Is Tebra an EHR system?
Yes. Tebra's homepage builds its platform around a cloud-based EHR, which also covers billing, scheduling and reputation tools, and its pricing page describes the EHR Starter plan as certified EHR technology. The price of each plan comes from a quote.
Is DrChrono an EHR system?
Yes. DrChrono's homepage says it brings scheduling, documentation and billing together in one AI-powered EHR. The OnPatient portal is the part patients use for booking, messages and payments.
Is Tebra the same company as Kareo?
Kareo is now part of Tebra, in Tebra's own words. Its press release says Kareo and PatientPop joined forces to form Tebra in 2021, and both old websites now redirect to tebra.com. If you are on an older Kareo contract, ask Tebra in writing which current plan it maps to.
How much does Tebra cost?
Tebra's pricing page names five plans and publishes no plan price; it says pricing is tailored during the demo. Two add-ons do carry a published number: EPCS setup (for e-prescribing controlled substances) at about $75 per provider one time, and PDMP integration (the state prescription monitoring check) at $500 one time per facility plus about $50 per user a year.
How much does DrChrono cost per month?
DrChrono's pricing page lists three plans, Foundation, Growth and Premium, with no monthly price and a Request A Quote button. It does publish add-on and usage fees: extended lab integration at $30 per provider a month, fees for texts, faxes and calls past plan limits, paper claim and statement fees, and card processing at 3.25% plus $0.30 with a $5 program fee.
Do Tebra and DrChrono have an API for appointment data?
Both document one. Tebra's Help Center describes a SOAP API that retrieves appointments once a system administrator generates a customer key, and DrChrono publishes OAuth REST API documentation with an appointment status field. I found no documentation that either online scheduler saves an ad click id with the booking, so ask in the demo.
Written by
Alexander Cheberko
Marketing Analytics & Conversion Tracking Engineer, US and Canada, run remotely
- Media buyer on Google Ads and Meta Ads from October 2023 to September 2025, nearly $700K in spend.
- Set up patient conversion tracking for a New York medical practice (anonymized).
- Upwork Top Rated, 5.0 from 20 reviews.