Dance studio software has to survive a whole studio year: a registration rush, months of autopay tuition, a costume and recital season, and a weekly grind of attendance and parent questions. Compare it job by job through that year, and add one more test the vendor lists leave out: can you count how many enrolled families each ad brought?
Quick answer
- Make the vendor show registration, monthly tuition, recital and a normal Tuesday on your own data.
- Test one family with two dancers in three classes, since a feature list will not show how that balance adds up.
- Ask where the form records how a family found you, and whether that answer reaches the enrolled family's record.
- If the software cannot count enrolled families per ad, count them yourself (worked example below).
Which job comes first: registration, tuition, recital or the weekly grind?
Registration comes first because it is where a family meets your software and where an ad click ends. Tuition runs for months, and a declined card quietly becomes unpaid classes. Recital season needs costume and ticket tools a general booking app may not have, and the weekly grind decides whether staff like the tool.
The table shows what to ask and what each vendor's own pages say (Dance Studio Manager is DSM). "Not stated" means the pages I read were silent, which is not the same as "not offered."
| Job | Ask in the demo | What the vendors' own pages say |
|---|---|---|
| Family registration | Enroll two siblings in three classes with one balance | Jackrabbit, Studio Pro: several children in one submission. DSM: siblings share one account and balance. Studio Director: online registration portal. Akada: online registration with staff review |
| Waivers, age and level rules | Show a class with a minimum age and where a signed waiver is stored | Jackrabbit: waivers; age filter. Studio Pro: age limits. Studio Director: online waivers. DSM: waivers; level prerequisites via support for now. Akada: not stated |
| Waitlist | Fill a class, add a family, then open a spot | Jackrabbit, DSM, Studio Pro: waitlists. Studio Director: notice when a spot opens. Akada: not stated |
| Tuition autopay | Show a declined card | Jackrabbit, DSM, Studio Director, Studio Pro: automated or recurring tuition. Akada: batch card processing. Retries: see below |
| Discounts | Apply a sibling and a multi-class discount to one family | Jackrabbit: both. Studio Pro: multi-student. DSM: multi-class. Studio Director: auto-applied promotions. Akada: not stated |
| Costumes and recital | Record measurements, a costume fee and a running order | All five: costume sizing. Studio Director, Akada: performance order with time to change |
| Attendance, makeups, messages | Take attendance on a phone, book a makeup, message a class | Jackrabbit: makeups in the parent portal. Studio Director: makeups, emails, texts. Studio Pro: class manager app, two-way texts on Elite. DSM: teacher attendance, email, paid texts. Akada: attendance app, two-way texting |
Sources besides those cited below, all checked 2026-10-13: Jackrabbit features, registration form, waivers, sibling and multi-class discounts; DSM home and waivers; Studio Director features and dance page; Akada features.
What does registration season need to handle?
Registration has four parts: the family account, the class rules, the paperwork and the full class. Jackrabbit can hide classes whose age range a child does not fit and lets you decide whether waitlisted students reduce the openings shown online (Jackrabbit help center, checked 2026-10-13).
DSM lists level prerequisites, but its manual says creating them currently goes through its support team (DSM manual, checked 2026-10-13). Ask how a parent signs a new waiver version.
What happens to monthly tuition when a card fails?
Ask what happens the day a card is declined: does the family get an email, does staff get a list, and does the dancer stay on the roster. DSM's manual says its Scheduled Payments page has no general retry button and tells staff to check the payment processor before charging again (DSM manual, checked 2026-10-13). The other pages I read say nothing about retries, or about proration (charging part of a month) for a January start.
Prices as each vendor publishes them:
| Vendor | Published price | What it scales with | Trial and setup, as stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jackrabbit Dance | From $49 a month; Plus from $93; Enterprise $245, or $331 with Plus | Student count at month end, inactive included; Enterprise is flat | No trial mentioned. Dance: "no setup fees". Plus: $169 setup plus app store fees |
| The Studio Director | $65 to $329 a month software only, $39 to $319 with payments | Student band, up to 5,000 | Free 30-day trial per its FAQ; 30-day money-back guarantee; no setup fee |
| Dance Studio Manager | $40 a month | Unlimited students; extras: $50 branded app, texts, 0.2% Stripe platform fee | 30-day trial, no credit card; routine data moves free |
| Studio Pro | $49, $79 or $165 a month | Flat, unlimited students; texts beyond Elite's 3,000 a month cost $0.02 each | 30-day free trial; free student import |
| Akada | $60 a month, one plan | Flat, no tiers; student limits not stated | Free trial sign-up; length not stated |
Sources: Jackrabbit Dance pricing, The Studio Director pricing and FAQ, DSM pricing, Studio Pro pricing, Akada pricing, all checked 2026-10-13. Akada's visible page says one flat rate with no tiers; only its hidden search description says tier-based, so confirm in the demo. DanceStudio-Pro is Studio Pro: its old address redirects to gostudiopro.com.
What does recital and costume season ask of the software?
A recital needs a roster of who dances in which routine, a costume order with sizes, a fee from each family, and tickets. Ask the vendor to show all four together. Of the pages I read, only Studio Pro's recital page mentions seating maps (Studio Pro, checked 2026-10-13), so if you sell reserved seats, ask the others whether tickets assign seats or only count them.
What about the weekly grind of attendance and parent messages?
Teachers need attendance on a phone and a way to message one class. Makeups need their own test: Jackrabbit lets parents book a makeup for an absence in the parent portal (Jackrabbit help center, checked 2026-10-13), so ask the others to show the same.
Texting can cost extra. DSM sells prepaid bundles, about $30 per 2,000 in the US and $20 per 1,000 in Canada (DSM pricing, checked 2026-10-13). Promotional texts to families in Canada are commercial electronic messages under CASL, the anti-spam law, which generally requires consent before you send one (Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, checked 2026-10-13).
Can the software show which ad brought an enrolled family?
Partly. Three vendors document a "how did you hear about us" field. It records what the family says, not which ad they clicked. Jackrabbit saves the answer on the family record, and its Source report counts families, students and enrollments by source (Jackrabbit help center, checked 2026-10-13). Studio Pro lets you add such a field to registration (Studio Pro, checked 2026-10-13).
DSM's manual says its Referral Source field stores no campaign, ad cost or proof that the source caused a purchase, and that its "How did you hear" report counts member records, not only families, so check a sample first (DSM manual, checked 2026-10-13).
Jackrabbit's registration settings take a Google Analytics 4 ID (it starts with "G-") so each form "hit" is counted; that is visits, not enrollments (Jackrabbit help center, checked 2026-10-13). Its FAQ says the form cannot take a Facebook pixel or other tracking cookies (Jackrabbit help center, checked 2026-10-13). Studio Pro puts lead capture on Elite and says its campaigns connect to social ads and Google Ads, without saying what reaches the family's record (Studio Pro, checked 2026-10-13). The Studio Director's and Akada's pages I read name no source field, Google Analytics or Meta pixel.
None of the pages I read mentions UTM tags (the labels in an ad link that name the campaign), so ask whether a tag in your ad link reaches the enrolled family's record. Without that, count by hand: give each ad its own tagged link and its own choice in the "how did you hear" list, ask every new family at the first trial class, and write down the enrolled families per source once a month.
What does an ad cost per enrolled family?
Illustrative: the studio, the ad budget and every number below are invented for a pretend youth dance studio, and no part of them describes a client.
| Step | Count | How it is figured |
|---|---|---|
| Ad spend in registration month | $1,800 | Chosen |
| Inquiries from the ad | 60 | Chosen |
| Trial classes booked | 36 | 36 / 60 = 60 percent |
| Trials attended | 27 | 27 / 36 = 75 percent |
| Families enrolled for the season | 18 | 18 / 27 is about 67 percent |
Cost per inquiry is $1,800 / 60 = $30. Cost per enrolled family is $1,800 / 18 = $100.
Your formula is spend divided by enrolled families, counted from your software or front desk list. The step with the biggest drop shows where to look: a low booked-to-attended number points at reminders, a low attended-to-enrolled number points at the trial class and the registration form.
What to ask the vendor
- Show two siblings, three classes and one balance, using my price list.
- What changes my bill at 300 students: count, plan or add-ons?
- Where is the source of a new family recorded, and can I export it?
- Can I add a Google Analytics ID to the registration form, and does it count an enrollment or only a visit?
- What is on the plan I am quoted, and what sits on a higher plan?
The yoga studio version of this choice starts from class packs and spot booking; the gym version starts from failed-card retries and freezes.
Tags
Frequently asked questions
Is there free dance studio software?
None of the vendors compared here advertises a free plan on its own pricing page. The lowest published numbers are $40 a month for Dance Studio Manager and $49 a month for Studio Pro Essentials and for the entry Jackrabbit Dance tier. Before trusting a free general tool, run it through the four seasons below, since a free tool that cannot hold two siblings in one account or print a recital running order costs staff time.
How is dance studio software priced?
It varies by vendor. Jackrabbit Dance and The Studio Director price by student count, and Jackrabbit says its count includes inactive students. Dance Studio Manager and Studio Pro publish flat monthly prices with unlimited students, and Akada publishes one flat plan, so ask each vendor what changes the bill at a larger size.
What is DanceStudio-Pro?
It is a dance studio management product whose old web address now redirects to gostudiopro.com, where the product is shown as Studio Pro. Its pricing page lists three plans, Essentials, Premier and Elite, and its checkmarks put lead capture and trial-to-enrollment automation on Elite only.
Can my registration form track which ad a family came from?
Partly. Jackrabbit, Dance Studio Manager and Studio Pro document a how-did-you-hear field on registration, and Jackrabbit's Source report counts enrollments by source. None of the help pages I read says a UTM tag from an ad link reaches the family's record, and Jackrabbit says its form cannot take a Facebook pixel. Give each ad its own tagged link and its own answer in the source list, then compare the two each month.
What should I ask in a dance software demo?
Walk the vendor through your own year: two siblings enrolling in three classes, a declined card in October, a costume fee in winter and a family that joined from an ad. Ask to see each on screen, not described, and write down which ones the salesperson says are on a higher plan.
Do texts to dance families have different rules in Canada?
Yes. Canada's anti-spam law, CASL, covers commercial electronic messages, such as promotional texts, and generally requires consent before a business sends them. Dance Studio Manager's pricing page also prices Canadian text bundles separately from US ones, so ask any vendor how consent is recorded.
Written by
Alexander Cheberko
Marketing Analytics & Conversion Tracking Engineer, US and Canada, run remotely
- Media buyer on Google Ads and Meta Ads from October 2023 to September 2025, nearly $700K in spend.
- Set up patient conversion tracking for a New York medical practice (anonymized).
- Upwork Top Rated, 5.0 from 20 reviews.